Current cart in use:
items - $0.00
Title Qty
your cart is empty


In Stock











Berlin, Symphony of a Great City
List Price: $22.95
Price: $19.51
You Save: $3.44 (15%)
Manufactured on Demand, Silent Movie
List Price: $24.95
Price: $21.21
You Save: $3.74 (15%)

At once an invaluable photographic record of life in Weimer Berlin and a timeless demonstration of the cinemas ability to enthrall on a purely visceral level, Berlin, Symphony of a Great City (Berlin, die Symphonie der Grosstadt) offers a kaleidoscopic view of a single day in the life of a bustling metropolis. Carl Mayer (The Last Laugh), influenced by the naturalistic Kammerspiel movement, envisioned a melody of pictures sprung from daily reality instead of the stylized artificiality of the studio-bound expressionist film. Following Mayers rough outline, photographer Karl Freund deployed a team of cameramen to explore the avenues, alleyways and factories of Berlin and secure hidden-camera glimpses of the people and machinery that provide the city with it's constant motion. The many hours of footage were then edited into a series of five acts, like movements of a symphony, by Walther Ruttmann as a continuation of his experiments with abstract motion (see Opus I). Berlin defined the formula of the city symphony film and according to John Grierson - the filmmaker/critic who coined the term documentary - No film has been more influential, more imitated. Opus I A rare example of the German avant-garde cinema known as absoluter Film, Walther Ruttmanns hand-colored Opus I is an exploration of the geometry of movement within the frame and the sensory effect these abstract shapes evoke as they swell, streak and swim across the screen. Viewed alongside Berlin, Opus I seems a thumbnail sketch for the sweeping slice-of-life documentary, revealing the degree to which Ruttmanns 1923 film was more a spectacle of raw motion than a documentary portrait of Berlins daily routines. Opus I is accompanied by Max Buttings 1922 score, adapted and conducted by Timothy Brock. Berlin, Symphony of a Great City Year: 1927 Length: 62 minutes Director: Walther Ruttman Music: Composed and conducted by Timothy Brock Format: NTSC Opus I Year: 1922 Length: 10 minutes Director: Walther Ruttman Music: Composed by Max Butting, adapted and conducted by Timothy Brock Produced for DVD by David Shepard From the Blackhawk Films Collection Presented by Flicker Alley

Title: Berlin, Symphony of a Great City
Genre: Special Interest-Documentary
Studio: Flicker Alley
Attributes: Manufactured on Demand, NTSC Format
Release Date: 3/14/2017
Original Year: 1927
Product Type: DVD
Rated: NR
UPC: 889290092014
Item #: 1796785X

Street Date: 3/14/2017
Original Language: ENG
Run Time: 72 minutes

You May Also Like