Show results for


In Stock















Berlin, Symphony of a Great City
List Price: $24.95
Price: $18.72
You Save: $6.23 (25%)
privacy policy
Backordered: Get it by Fri. Apr 12
Deliver to
Manufactured on Demand, NTSC Format
List Price: $19.95
Price: $16.39
You Save: $3.56 (18%)

At once an invaluable photographic record of life in Weimer Berlin and a timeless demonstration of the cinemas ability to enthrall on a purely visceral level, Berlin, Symphony of a Great City (Berlin, die Symphonie der Grosstadt) offers a kaleidoscopic view of a single day in the life of a bustling metropolis. Carl Mayer (The Last Laugh), influenced by the naturalistic Kammerspiel movement, envisioned a melody of pictures sprung from daily reality instead of the stylized artificiality of the studio-bound expressionist film. Following Mayers rough outline, photographer Karl Freund deployed a team of cameramen to explore the avenues, alleyways, and factories of Berlin and secure hidden-camera glimpses of the people and machinery that provide the city with it's constant motion. The many hours of footage were then edited into a series of five acts, like movements of a symphony, by Walther Ruttmann as a continuation of his experiments with abstract motion. Scanned in 2K resolution from 16mm elements and featuring a score by composer Timothy Brock as performed by the Olympia Chamber Orchestra, Flicker Alley and Blackhawk Films are proud to release this classic of documentary cinema in a high-definition Blu-ray edition for the first time ever. Berlin defined the formula of the city symphony film and according to John Grierson the filmmaker/critic who coined the term documentary No film has been more influential, more imitated.

Title: Berlin, Symphony of a Great City
Genre: Special Interest-Documentary, Silent Films
Studio: Flicker Alley
Attributes: Manufactured on Demand, Silent Movie
Release Date: 9/4/2018
Original Year: 1927
Product Type: Blu-ray
Rated: NR
UPC: 810162037246
Item #: 2092703X

Subtitles: ENG
Street Date: 9/4/2018
Run Time: 62 minutes

You May Also Like