Current cart in use:
items - $0.00
Title Qty
your cart is empty


In Stock











D.W. Griffith: Years of Discovery Volume One (1909-1913)
List Price: $19.95
Price: $16.96
You Save: $2.99 (15%)
privacy policy

More that three sides of any room), and the need to establish character immediately resulted in a kind of cinematic shorthand which gave these shorts terrific compression. The limitations of time and space also meant that people, places, and objects frequently took on extraordinary metaphoric power they gradually lost as movies got longer. Many of the Griffith Biographs rank with the finest movies he ever made; collectively, they provide an unparalleled record of American life at the turn of the 20th century. (Abridged from essay by Russell Merritt, Film Historian and Professor, University of California, Berkeley) VOLUME ONE INCLUDES: Those Awful Hats The Sealed Room The Redmans View Corner in Wheat The Unchanging Sea In the Border States His Trust What Shall We Do with Our Old? For His Son The Sunbeam The Girl and Her Trust The Female of the Species One Is Business, The Other Crime An Unseen Enemy The Painted Lady The Musketeers of Pig Alley Year: 1909-1913 Length: 218 minutes Director: D.W. Griffith Starring: Lillian Gish, Dorothy Gish, Mary Pickford, Mack Sennett, Lionel Barrymore, Henry Walthall, Mae Marsh Format: NTSC Produced for DVD by David Shepard From the Blackhawk Films Collection Presented by Flicker Alley

Title: D.W. Griffith: Years of Discovery Volume One (1909-1913)
Genre: Drama-Classics, Drama-Classics (Silent Films)
Starring: Lillian Gish, Dorothy Gish, Mary Pickford, Mack Sennett, Lionel Barrymore
Director: D.W. Griffith
Studio: Flicker Alley
Attributes: Manufactured on Demand, NTSC Format
Release Date: 3/14/2017
Original Year: 1909
Product Type: DVD
Rated: NR
UPC: 889290092069
Item #: 1796949X

Street Date: 3/14/2017
Original Language: ENG
Run Time: 218 minutes

You May Also Like